SharePoint Pals
 | Sign In
How to get the Target Audience Groups of Logged-In User Programmatically in SharePoint 2013
by Sathish Nadarajan 18 Apr 2015
SharePoint MVP
Today  :   1     Total  :    8125

In one of the requirement, I need to frame the Search Query based on the Target Audience Groups the current user belongs to. To achieve that, I had come up with the below method.

 public static string GetCurrentUserAudienceGroup(string publishingSiteURL, string loginName)
             AcenetLogger.LogMessage("Entering into the Method GetCurrentUserAudienceGroup", "CommonHelper", null);
             string audienceGroups = string.Empty;
                         using (SPSite site = new SPSite(publishingSiteURL))
                             SPWeb web = site.RootWeb;
                             Microsoft.Office.Server.ServerContext context = Microsoft.Office.Server.ServerContext.GetContext(site);
                             AudienceManager audManager = new AudienceManager(context);
                             AudienceCollection audiences = audManager.Audiences;
                             for (int i = 0; i < audiences.Count; i++)
                                 if (audiences[i].IsMember(loginName))
                                     audienceGroups = audienceGroups + "," + audiences[i].AudienceID;
             catch (Exception ex)
                 Logger.LogException("Error has occured On the Method”);
                 audienceGroups = string.Empty;
             return audienceGroups.TrimStart(',');

The method is very much self-explanatory. Even then, the pseudo code as follows.

· With the elevated previleges, get the SP Site object

· Get the Server Context object by using the site Object

· With the Context object, instantiate the AudienceManager Object

· With that, get the Audiences.

· Iterate through the Audiences groups and make sure that the current Logon User is a Member.

Here, even I thought of eliminating the ‘for’ loop. But I could not find out any other optimum way.

Hope this helps…

Happy Coding,

Sathish Nadarajan.

blog comments powered by Disqus

SharePoint Pals

SharePoint Pals, a community portal for SharePoint developers, Administrators and End Users. Let's join hands and share the point together.
Read this on mobile


Angular Js Training In Chennai
Advanced Angular Js training with real world developer scenarios
Angular Js, Web Api and Ionic for .Net Developers
All in one client side application development for .Net developers
Angular Js For SharePoint Developers
Get ready for the future. Its no more just C#

Get Connected

SharePoint Resources

SharePoint 2013 and 2010 Web Parts
Free Web Parts with Source Code for SharePoint Community

SharePoint 2013 Books and Tutorials
Collection of free SharePoint 2013 books and tutorials (eBooks, pdfs)

Supported By

Contribute your article and be eligible for a one month Free Subscription for Plural Sight. The Author of the most popular New Article (published in the previous month) will be awarded with a Free One month Plural Sight Subscription. Article can be sent to in a word document.

Related Resources

Recent Tweets

Twitter October 23, 22:21
How to Add/Remove User Custom Actions (in Site Actions Menu) Programmatically using CSOM PNP in SharePoint -

Twitter October 21, 21:34
How to Add a JS Link Reference to the Display Form or Any other ASPX Programmatically using CSOM PNP in SharePoint -

Twitter October 20, 13:01
How to Add a JS Link Reference to the NewForm and EditForm Programmatically using CSOM PNP in SharePoint Office 365-

Twitter October 12, 12:15
How to Deploy Provider Hosted Apps (Add-Ins) by App Stapling in SharePoint Office 365 -

Twitter October 11, 13:39
How to Deploy Provider HostedApp programmatically using CSOM in SharePoint Office 365 Activating Developer Feature -

Follow us @SharePointPals
Note: For Customization and Configuration, CheckOutRecent Tweets Documentation